You will need an account to submit filings through Maryland Business Express.
Please review the Fee Schedule prior to registering your business or ordering documents. All filings completed online are considered Expedited.
For business filing types not currently accepted online, please visit the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation website for assistance.
You may register or renew a trade name online.
A Trade Name is a ‘Trading As’ name, which may be different from the legal name of the business as registered with the State of Maryland.
Please note that a Trade Name is not the same as a Trademark. For more information on how to register a Trademark in Maryland, refer to the Trademarks and Servicemarks FAQ. If you can answer YES to ANY of the following questions, then you may proceed to apply for a Trade Name.
Trade Names may be renewed online up to 6 months prior to the lapse date. The original Trade Name must be in active status and the owner(s) of the Trade Name must be in Good Standing.
You can also search for businesses and order business documents.
You may submit business filings using your own documentation for the following types:
For eligible businesses, you can make the following changes online:
For other changes or amendments for existing businesses, visit Maryland State Department of Assessments and Taxation’s Forms and Applications. See the options in the ‘Make Changes to an Existing Business’ section.
All legal business entities formed, qualified, or registered to do business in Maryland MUST file an Annual Report:
If your legal business entity can answer ‘Yes’ to either of the following questions, you MUST file a Personal Property Tax Return.
Sole Proprietorships and General Partnerships must file a Form 2 Personal Property Tax Return (no fees apply).
Rental property (condominiums, townhouses, cottages, rooms, etc.) in Ocean City/Worcester County (Unincorporated) must file a Form 7 Personal Property Tax Return (no fees apply).
Not all business types can be filed online at this time. If your business falls into one of the following categories, you will NOT be able to file online. Download Annual Report and Personal Property Tax Return forms here.
YES, you can file PREVIOUS YEAR annual filings online. However, if your business falls into one of the following categories, you will NOT be able to submit PREVIOUS YEAR filings online. Download Annual Report and/or Personal Property Tax Return forms here. Business entities that are forfeited, or Not in Good Standing (other than dissolved, merged, or consolidated), ARE ELIGIBLE to file, provided they do not fall into the categories listed below:
Other important requirements for submitting previous year filings:
Please be advised that it may take up to 7 business days to review your filing and that further action may be required by you in order for your entity to be returned to Good Standing. You may also contact the Department at email@example.com for questions regarding your filing or Good Standing status.
In many cases, a late filing penalty can be paid online. The Annual Report/Personal Property Tax Return must have already been submitted and reviewed by the State Department of Assessments and Taxation. Once reviewed, the Filing Status page will indicate if a penalty is due and for which Filing Year. To access the Filing Status page, log in to Maryland Business Express, locate your business in the ‘Businesses’ tab, and select the ‘Start Annual Report/Personal Property Tax Return’ in the drop-down menu to the right. If your penalty has been outstanding for at least 3 years, you will be directed to the State of Maryland Central Collection Unit website where you can pay your Late Penalty. Register with them by entering your CCU Account Number, CCU Debtor Number and ZIP Code. If you need help on the CCU website, call 1-888-248-0345 and press 0 to speak with an operator.